Palmeiras celebrates four years of ten-time Brazilian championship; remember the campaign



This Friday Palmeiras celebrates four years of the tenth Brazilian championship, won by the team commanded by Luiz Felipe Scolari. Verdão was national champion with 80 points won and one round to spare.

In all, Palmeiras won 23 games, drew 11 and lost four. Verdão scored 64 goals and leaked in 26 opportunities. In the title match, Alviverde beat Vasco 1-0, in São Januário, with a goal from Deyverson.

Palmeiras’ campaign was one of recovery. The team, which started the Brasieirão with Roger Machado in charge, finished the first round in sixth place, eight points behind leaders Flamengo. With the arrival of Felipão, the team has strengthened the defensive system and gained consistency to start the tournament.

In addition to having earned more points than the rest of the clubs in the Brazilian league, Verdão led several aspects during the competition: most wins (23), least defeats (4), best attack (64), best defense (26) and best goal difference (37).

According to FootstatOf all the Brasileirão teams, Palmeiras was the one who dribbled the most (267), intercepted the most balls (222), tackled the most (860) and shot the most (1651).

Forward Willian finished the competition as Palmeiras’ top scorer, with 10 goals scored. Dudu, on the other hand, was the leader in assists, with 14, and was chosen by the CBF as the best player of the competition.

🇧🇷The best content in your email for free. Choose your favorite Terra newsletter. Click here!

Source: Terra

━ more like this


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here